[Sinn Fein]

14 November 2000

Name tax amnesty politicians - South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County Council has unanimously passed a Sinn Fein motion calling for the Government to name all those politicians who took advantage of the 1993 tax amnesty granted by the Fianna Fáil and Labour coalition government.

The motion was tabled by Sinn Fein Councillors Seán Crowe and Mark Daly at the monthly meeting of the council in Tallaght on Monday night..

The motion reads: ``That this council, recognising the irreparable damage being done to honest political representatives and politics in this country by the ongoing scandals and revelations of corruption emerging from the various tribunals, agrees to call on the present government, in the interest of building trust and transparency, to release the names of all those politicians who availed of the 1993 amnesty for tax cheats.''

Councillor Seán Crowe said:

``It is long past time for the political establishment to clean up its act.  Tax-payers have a right to know which politicians took advantage of the notorious amnesty granted to tax cheats by Labour and Fianna Fáil in 1993.

``There must be no hiding place for politicians on the make.''

Sinn Fein Press Office, 44 Parnell Square, Dublin 1
Tel: +353-1-8726100 and +353-1-8726839   ·   Fax +353-1-8733074
E-mail: sinnfein@irlnet.com   ·   Website: http://www.sinnfein.org

Sinn Fein   ·   Sinn Fein Documents